BEH (Hiralal Santudevi Pradhan Institute of Ophthalmic Sciences) is located in the Chitwan District of southern central Nepal. BEH is a non-profit making, charitable organization under the umbrella of Nepal Netra Jyoti Sangh (NNJS). Its objective is to provide high-quality comprehensive eye care services at an affordable cost to locals as well as patients from neighboring districts like Gorkha, Lamjung, Nawalpur, Tanahau, Makwanpur, Parsa & Dhading which comprises of about two million populations. In addition to the Base Hospital located at Bharatpur Metro Municipality, BEH has established 3 secondary level eye hospitals and 18 eye care centers at different places in its catchment area.

Bharatpur Eye Hospital was established in 1987. The hospital building was constructed with financial and technical support from the Bank of Commerce and Credits International (BCCI) Foundation Pakistan. The hospital was inaugurated jointly by the Late King Birendra Bir Bikram Shah Dev and the President of Pakistan, Ghulam Ishaq Khan on 31 March 1988. This was the only one eye hospital named after king, which was changed after Nepal attained the Republic in 2008. BEH has an academic wing known as Hiralal Santudevi Pradhan Institute of Ophthalmic Sciences and is conducting residency in ophthalmology and fellowship programs in vitreo-retina and SICS in affiliation with the National Academy of Medical Sciences (NAMS). Similarly, it is conducting academic programs like Bachelor in Optometry (B Optom) under NAMS and Certificate Level in Ophthalmic Science under CTEVT Program.